NJS (2325 JP): Domestic consulting drives earnings; operations economics in focus
NJS primarily plans and designs water and sewer infrastructure and is expanding into facility operations, utility systems and inspection. Large projects in the domestic segment progressed in H1 FY12/26, lifting sales 17.5% YoY and OP 27.0% YoY. The balance sheet carries ¥26.257bn of net cash. The next test is whether the Operation business and digital activities can become durable earnings streams.
Company
NJS Co., Ltd.
株式会社NJS
A water and sewer engineering consultant expanding from planning and design into operation, maintenance, utility systems and inspection.
- Close
- ¥4,710
- Market cap
- ¥44.854bn
- Net cash
- ¥26.257bn
- Enterprise value (EV)/forecast EBIT
- 5.17x
- FY12/25 sales
- ¥24.854bn (+10.0% YoY)
- FY12/25 OPM
- 13.15%
Summary
NJS is an engineering consultant serving municipalities and public-sector bodies in water and sewer infrastructure. Its core work covers planning, design, seismic reinforcement, renewal and asset management. NJS has expanded into operation and maintenance, utility systems, drone and other inspection technologies, and overseas consulting. FY12/25 sales rose 10.0% YoY to ¥24.854bn, while OP increased 9.2% YoY to ¥3.268bn. Domestic Operations accounted for 92.2% of sales and drove earnings, while Overseas Operations remained loss-making.
Japan’s aging water infrastructure is increasing renewal needs just as municipalities face shortages of technical staff. This creates room for outsourcing to expand beyond surveys and design into asset management, operation, maintenance and inspection. NJS has 63 domestic offices, 388 professional engineers and experience working with 926 municipalities. If NJS can add operations, inspection and systems to these relationships, it could win a broader range of work from each customer.
H1 FY12/26 (Jan–Jun) sales rose 17.5% YoY to ¥16.791bn, while OP increased 27.0% YoY to ¥4.966bn. OP was already ¥1.366bn above unchanged full-year guidance of ¥3.600bn. NJS says progress and completion of large projects were concentrated in H1. We therefore do not treat the 29.6% H1 OPM as a normalized run rate. The immediate question is how sharply earnings reverse in H2 and where full-year earnings ultimately land.
At the September 2 close of ¥4,710, market cap was ¥44.854bn. Cash and deposits, less a conservative debt-and-lease proxy, leave net cash of ¥26.257bn, equal to 58.5% of market cap. Enterprise value (EV) is ¥18.597bn, or 5.17x FY12/26 guided OP. The low multiple partly reflects the large cash balance. A higher valuation would require evidence that investment in the Operation business and digital activities can sustain growth in earnings and FCF.
Business
NJS has two statutory reporting segments: Domestic Operations and Overseas Operations. Domestic Operations handles planning, design, seismic reinforcement, renewal and asset management for water and sewer facilities. FY12/25 segment sales were ¥22.910bn and segment profit was ¥3.489bn. The Japan Sewage Works Agency accounted for ¥4.265bn, or 17.2%, of group sales. With public-sector work at the core, tender timing, budgets, project progress and customer acceptance can cause earnings to move between periods.
NJS’s 63 domestic offices, 388 professional engineers and experience with 926 municipalities provide the operating base for bidding and execution across Japan. These figures alone do not demonstrate pricing power or high barriers to entry. Profitability in Domestic Operations depends on allocating engineers efficiently to large projects while absorbing higher personnel and subcontracting costs.
Overseas Operations has worked in more than 90 countries. FY12/25 sales were ¥1.945bn. The segment loss was ¥220mn in FY12/25 and ¥68mn in H1 FY12/26. For now, we are focused on evidence of improving profitability.
NJS also reports the Consulting, Operation and Global business lines separately from its statutory segments. The Operation business runs 26 facility-operation and maintenance sites. Utility software has been installed in more than 300 cities, and NJS discloses 172 contracts. Inspection offerings include pipe drones, millimeter-wave manhole water-level monitoring and underwater drones. Adoption is visible, but NJS does not disclose recurring sales, renewal rates or product-level margins. We need clearer economics before treating software and inspection as standalone growth businesses.
Figure 1. FY12/25 statutory segment mix, based on ¥24.854bn of consolidated sales
| Segment | Sales (¥bn) | Mix | Segment profit (¥bn) | Margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Domestic Operations | 22.910 | 92.2% | 3.489 | 15.2% |
| Overseas Operations | 1.945 | 7.8% | −0.220 | −11.3% |
| Consolidated | 24.854 | 100.0% | 3.268 | 13.1% |
Note: Management business lines are separate from statutory reporting segments. Totals may differ due to rounding.Sources: FY12/25 annual securities report (Japanese original). Compiled and calculated by JII.
Figure 2. Domestic operating base, company disclosures
| Measure | Scale | Relevance |
|---|---|---|
| Domestic offices | 63 | Nationwide project coverage |
| Professional engineers | 388 | Technical review and project execution |
| Municipal work record | 926 | Relationships with water and sewer utilities |
| Software installations | 300+ cities; 172 contracts | Utility-system installation record |
| Operation sites | 26 | Facility operation and maintenance record |
Sources: Integrated Report 2025, pp. 15–16 and 28 (Japanese original). Compiled and calculated by JII.
Performance
Sales rose from ¥19.232bn in FY12/22 to ¥24.854bn in FY12/25, an 8.9% three-year CAGR that included 10.0% YoY growth in FY12/25. OP fell to ¥1.619bn in FY12/23 before recovering to ¥2.993bn in FY12/24 and ¥3.268bn in FY12/25, up 9.2% YoY. OPM was 10.1%, 7.3%, 13.2% and 13.1% over FY12/22–FY12/25, respectively, as project mix and completion timing shifted.
H1 FY12/26 orders rose 15.3% YoY to ¥14.080bn; sales increased 17.5% YoY to ¥16.791bn; and OP rose 27.0% YoY to ¥4.966bn. Large consulting projects in Domestic Operations lifted segment profit to ¥5.035bn. Full-year guidance remains unchanged at orders of ¥29.0bn; sales of ¥28.0bn, up 12.7% YoY; OP of ¥3.6bn, up 10.2% YoY; RP of ¥3.7bn; and parent NP of ¥2.45bn, up 12.3% YoY. It is unusual for H1 OP to have already exceeded full-year guidance, but NJS attributes this to early completion of large projects. We will watch whether full-year earnings can still exceed guidance after any H2 reversal.
H1 operating cash flow was ¥9.398bn, but working-capital movements, including collections and contract liabilities, had a large effect. We do not view this as a normalized full-year figure. FY12/25 FCF was ¥1.414bn, based on operating cash flow of ¥2.075bn less ¥0.661bn of cash purchases of tangible and intangible assets. Cash conversion from project progress therefore remains another point to monitor.
Figure 3. FY12/22–FY12/25 financial record, ¥bn except margins
| FY12/22 | FY12/23 | FY12/24 | FY12/25 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales | 19.232 | 22.028 | 22.594 | 24.854 |
| OP | 1.935 | 1.619 | 2.993 | 3.268 |
| OPM | 10.1% | 7.3% | 13.2% | 13.1% |
| FCF | — | — | 1.406 | 1.414 |
Note: JII calculates FCF as operating cash flow less purchases of tangible and intangible fixed assets.Sources: FY12/22 results (Japanese original); FY12/23 results (Japanese original); FY12/25 results (Japanese original); FY12/25 annual securities report (Japanese original). Compiled and calculated by JII.
Figure 4. H1 FY12/26 results versus full-year guidance, ¥bn; progress is versus guidance
| Measure | H1 result | YoY | Full-year guidance | Progress |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales | 16.791 | +17.5% | 28.000 | 60.0% |
| OP | 4.966 | +27.0% | 3.600 | 137.9% |
| Parent NP | 3.620 | +34.9% | 2.450 | 147.8% |
Note: NJS cites early completion of large projects and a concentration of progress in H1. H1 should not be annualized.Sources: FY12/26 H1 results, August 12, 2026 (Japanese original); H1 results briefing, August 28, 2026. Compiled and calculated by JII.
Outlook
NJS targets ¥40.0bn of sales in 2030. This is 42.9% above FY12/26 guidance of ¥28.0bn and implies a four-year CAGR of about 9.3%. Its FY12/26 business-line outlook is about ¥20.9bn for Consulting, ¥4.9bn for Operation and ¥2.2bn for Global, matching group sales guidance. NJS has not disclosed 2030 sales or margins by business line, leaving the business mix and earnings path to ¥40.0bn difficult to model in detail.
The 2024–2026 medium-term management plan (MTP) originally targeted ¥26.5bn of orders, ¥25.0bn of sales, ¥2.5bn of OP and a 10% OPM in FY12/26. Current guidance calls for ¥29.0bn of orders, ¥28.0bn of sales, up 12.7% YoY, and ¥3.6bn of OP, up 10.2% YoY, all above those targets. Attention now shifts to which businesses will drive the next stage of growth and whether higher sales will translate into higher OP and FCF.
Long-term operations are one possible growth area. The Toyohashi water-treatment redevelopment project runs for about 30 years, while the Nagasaki/Nagayo joint water-treatment project runs for about 22 years. By extending its role from design and renewal into operation and maintenance, NJS can widen the scope of work within a project and lengthen the contract period. The disclosed project values, however, are consortium totals and do not represent NJS sales, ownership or profit. Assessing the Operation business requires disclosure of NJS-attributable contract value, margins and capital commitments.
Digital and inspection technologies are also relevant to municipal staffing shortages. A Tokyo Metropolitan Government fixed-asset management system contract is worth about ¥150mn and aims to save roughly 1,300 labor hours a year. Paid adoption and renewals at other municipalities could also improve consulting productivity. NJS has not disclosed enough to judge recurring sales or profitability, so we will watch earnings evidence alongside installation counts.
Figure 5. 2024–2026 MTP, FY12/26 guidance and 2030 target
| Measure | 2024–2026 MTP | FY12/26 guidance | 2030 target |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orders | ¥26.5bn | ¥29.0bn | Not disclosed |
| Sales | ¥25.0bn | ¥28.0bn | ¥40.0bn |
| OP | ¥2.5bn | ¥3.6bn | Not disclosed |
| OPM | 10% | 12.9% calculated | Not disclosed |
Note: NJS has not disclosed 2030 sales or margins by business line.Sources: 2024–2026 Medium-Term Management Plan; FY12/26 H1 results (Japanese original); H1 results briefing, August 28, 2026. Compiled and calculated by JII.
Financial position and shareholder returns
Cash and deposits were ¥26.309bn at the end of H1 FY12/26 and the equity ratio was 78.8%. Interest-bearing debt is limited. After deducting ¥52mn of other non-current liabilities as a conservative debt-and-lease proxy, we calculate net cash of ¥26.257bn. Financial capacity is ample, but valuation depends more on how NJS deploys surplus capital and whether it improves capital efficiency.
FY12/25 R&D expense was ¥928mn. NJS has indicated that it intends to raise annual R&D spending to ¥1.5bn by 2030, 61.6% above FY12/25. NJS acquired CDC Aqua Service for ¥700mn plus fees in 2025 and recognized about ¥503mn of goodwill, amortized over 10 years. NJS clearly intends to invest more in operations and digital technology, but it has not disclosed returns from R&D and acquisitions in sufficient detail. We will focus on their contribution to earnings and FCF, not spending growth by itself.
The FY12/26 dividend forecast is ¥110 per share, up 4.8% from ¥105 in FY12/25 and implying a 2.34% yield at the reference price. Nippon Hume Corporation (5262 JP) was the largest shareholder on June 30, 2026, with 3,420,000 shares, or 35.76%. How NJS balances dividends, R&D, M&A and share repurchases will shape medium-term capital efficiency and shareholder returns.
Figure 6. Conservative net cash as a share of ¥44.854bn market cap on September 2, 2026
| Item | Value | Share of market cap |
|---|---|---|
| Conservative net cash | ¥26.257bn | 58.5% |
| Market cap less net cash | ¥18.597bn | 41.5% |
Note: Cash and deposits were ¥26.309bn. The calculation deducts ¥52mn of other non-current liabilities as a conservative debt-and-lease proxy.Sources: FY12/26 H1 results (Japanese original); FY12/26 half-year report (Japanese original); J-Quants Standard, September 2, 2026 close. Compiled and calculated by JII.
Figure 7. Capital-allocation reference points
| Item | Latest value | What to watch |
|---|---|---|
| R&D expense | ¥0.928bn | Returns as annual spending moves toward ¥1.5bn |
| CDC Aqua purchase price | ¥0.700bn + fees | Contribution to earnings and FCF |
| Annual dividend | ¥110 forecast | Balance between growth investment and shareholder returns |
| Nippon Hume holding | 35.76% | Future capital policy |
Sources: FY12/25 annual securities report (Japanese original); Integrated Report 2025, pp. 27–28 (Japanese original); CDC Aqua Service acquisition, March 25, 2025 (Japanese original); FY12/26 H1 results (Japanese original); FY12/26 half-year report (Japanese original). Compiled and calculated by JII.
Share price and valuation
From September 2, 2024 to September 2, 2026, NJS returned 26.4% versus 50.3% for TOPIX, an underperformance of 23.8ppt. The period’s peak close was ¥6,680 on September 4, 2025, followed by a post-peak low of ¥4,295 on July 17, 2026. The reference close of ¥4,710 is 29.5% below the peak and 9.7% above that low. Average daily traded value over the latest 60 sessions was about ¥143mn, so institutional investors need to account for liquidity.
The reference price is ¥4,710. Using 9,523,112 shares excluding treasury and Board Benefit Trust shares, market cap is ¥44.854bn. Deducting conservative net cash of ¥26.257bn gives EV of ¥18.597bn. That equates to 5.17x FY12/26 guided OP of ¥3.600bn and 5.69x FY12/25 OP of ¥3.268bn. FY12/25 FCF yield is 3.15%; P/B using H1 FY12/26 BPS is about 1.46x; and the forecast dividend yield is 2.34%.
The low EV multiple is heavily influenced by net cash equal to 58.5% of market cap. FY12/25 FCF yield, by contrast, is 3.15%. Investors therefore need to assess operating FCF and surplus capital separately; the EV multiple alone obscures the distinction. If domestic consulting remains profitable and investment in the Operation business and digital activities begins to lift FCF, there is scope for a valuation reappraisal. If returns on capital deployment remain unclear, the large cash balance alone may not lead to a higher share-price valuation.
Figure 8. NJS versus TOPIX, September 2, 2024–September 2, 2026, start-date comparison
| Measure | Performance / level |
|---|---|
| NJS | +26.4% |
| TOPIX | +50.3% |
| Relative | −23.8ppt |
| Peak close | ¥6,680 (September 4, 2025) |
| Post-peak low | ¥4,295 (July 17, 2026) |
| Reference close | ¥4,710 (September 2, 2026) |
| 60-session ADTV | About ¥143mn/day |
Sources: J-Quants Standard, September 2, 2024–September 2, 2026. Compiled and calculated by JII.
Figure 9. Valuation at the September 2, 2026 close of ¥4,710
| Calculation | Value |
|---|---|
| ¥4,710 × 9,523,112 shares | ¥44.854bn market cap |
| Cash and deposits | ¥26.309bn |
| Conservative debt-and-lease proxy | −¥0.052bn |
| Conservative net cash | ¥26.257bn |
| Market cap less net cash | ¥18.597bn EV |
| EV / FY12/26 guided OP | 5.17x |
| EV / FY12/25 OP | 5.69x |
| FY12/25 FCF / market cap | 3.15% |
| P/B | About 1.46x |
| Forecast dividend yield | 2.34% |
Sources: FY12/26 H1 results (Japanese original); FY12/26 half-year report (Japanese original); FY12/25 results (Japanese original); J-Quants Standard, September 2, 2026 close. Compiled and calculated by JII.
What to watch
- FY12/26 full-year earnings — H1 OP of ¥4.966bn already exceeds unchanged full-year guidance of ¥3.600bn. The timing of H2 project completion and expenses will indicate whether H1 profitability mainly reflected early project completion or also an improvement in underlying earnings power.
- Economics of long-term operations — For Toyohashi and Nagasaki/Nagayo, disclosure of NJS-attributable contract value, sales recognition, margins, equity and guarantee commitments, indexation and collection terms would allow a more concrete assessment of profitability in the Operation business.
- Monetization of software and inspection — Paid deployments, renewal rates, recurring sales, product GPM and throughput per engineer would help show whether these activities remain tools that complement consulting or develop into new earnings streams.
- Capital allocation and Overseas Operations profitability — We will watch returns on R&D, CDC Aqua and future M&A, together with progress in reducing Overseas Operations losses and the use of surplus cash. Domestic consulting and financial capacity are strengths; the next stage of valuation will depend on returns from investment in the Operation business and digital activities and on better capital efficiency.
Sources
- FY12/26 H1 results, August 12, 2026
- FY12/26 half-year report, EDINET S100YVTQ
- FY12/26 H1 results briefing, August 28, 2026
- FY12/25 results, February 13, 2026
- FY12/25 annual securities report, EDINET S100XV5A
- 2024–2026 Medium-Term Management Plan, February 14, 2024
- Integrated Report 2025
- Toyohashi water-treatment redevelopment project, November 10, 2025
- Nagasaki/Nagayo joint water-treatment project, June 25, 2026
- Tokyo Metropolitan Government fixed-asset management system, March 23, 2026
- CDC Aqua Service acquisition, March 25, 2025
- FY12/26 interim dividend, August 12, 2026
- Blue Bloom Capital/MA Platform corrected large-holder filing, EDINET S100X5U8
- FY12/22 results, February 14, 2023 (Japanese original)
- FY12/23 results, February 14, 2024 (Japanese original)
About this research
JII is an investor-relations consultancy, not an investment adviser. This research uses public information to help investors understand a company’s economics and disclosures. It is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold a security. Prices and multiples are fixed to the September 2, 2026 close and do not reflect subsequent market movements.
Conflicts. JII, its officers and related persons do not own or trade securities of companies covered by JII research. Any paid relationship with a covered company is disclosed in the relevant publication.